top of page

More Success at out Apiary


Well got a call out to my out Apiary 4pm on Tuesday - Packwood Millpool Apiary - "The bees are swarming on the middle hive, it's covered in bees."

Went racing down there, yes there were bees more than I would expect on the hive back. The Middle of the 3 hives is a NUC and I knew there was an emerged Virgin so I was pretty sure it had not swarmed. Also its entrance faces North as the other 2 hives face South. Being close together on the stand I thought it would help prevent drifting so much.

All I could figure out was the the Virgin was out mating as I though and being 4pm a good time to be coming back. Drones are generally out between 2pm and 4pm.

Went down today - 3 days later - Yes she is mated and Laying so we now have Queen Opal the 3rd queen I have successfully raise and mated this year.

Could not find her to mark - very elusive, Opal is Sapphire's daughter so probaly a littl paleer more golden than Emerald's girls

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page